BHOe

Burghauptmannschaft Oesterreich - what is it?

Burghauptmannschaft Oesterreich (BHOe) is a subordinate agency of the Federal Ministry for Digital and Economic Affairs and a legal entity. She is owner of around 110 historically significant buildings and monuments throughout Austria, including Imperial Palace Vienna, Belvedere Palace as the former summer residence of Prince Eugene of Savoy and Imperial Palace Innsbruck. BHOe is responsible for the appropriate use and maintenance of these memorable buildings.

In addition to the core task of maintaining built heritage in the best possible way, Burghauptmannschaft Oesterreich has initiated, accompanied and carried out various (EU-) projects since 2013. As a result, important issues such as further training in the field of maintenance of historic buildings could be tackled and implemented.

In addition to EU projects, Burghauptmannschaft also allowed other innovative ideas and artistic expression to prosper, which resulted in diverse and exciting synergies.

Why EU projects?

CEO Reinhold Sahl took over the function as castle captain in 2010. As manager and long-term planning strategist, he soon discovered that there was a offer/demand gap in further training and knowledge capital. Thus he enthusiastically welcomed the idea of submitting an Erasmus + project on this topic. The MODI-FY project started in 2014 and, despite budget constraints, an internationally certified advanced training course for maintenance managers was created over three years. Other EU projects such as OrbEEt or PRO-Heritage followed.

In 2016, the Imperial Palace Vienna was awarded the European Heritage Label following the request of Burghauptmannschaft Oesterreich. Due to the active role of BHÖ among the award-winning sites, they are now also coordinator of the EHL@N(etwork) since 2019. An initiative, that provides all existing and future heritage label holders with valuable experience and tools to support them in fulfilling their tasks as representatives of cultural heritage. An initiative that provides all existing and future cultural heritage seal holders with valuable experience and tools to support them in fulfilling their tasks as cultural heritage sponsors.

Projects at European level quickly develop their own momentum: once started, you receive invitations to projects and have access to unexpected new opportunities, such as participating in "Voices of Culture" in the 2018 Year of Cultural Heritage. By now BHOe has compiled a good reputation as project initiator and –coordinator; And utilises the emerging prospects to the benefit of employees, the historic buildings themselves and the general public.

On this website now you will find all current and previous (EU-) projects of Burghauptmannschaft Oesterreich. Of course with an ongoing update and expansion in the event of approval of a new project.

With the Projectworld newsletter  which is published regularly since September 2019, we also inform about highlights of ongoing activities. At the same time we disseminate our EU projects and –content, while making our contribution to enhanced networking in the emerging new sector "Cultural Heritage".

You can find information on the core tasks of Burghauptmannschaft Oesterreich here.

projects & events
15. October 2020
13. October 2020
Newsletter

BHÖ

Burghauptmannschaft Österreich – was ist das?

Die Burghauptmannschaft Österreich (BHÖ) ist eine nachgeordnete Dienststelle des Bundesministeriums für Digitalisierung und Wirtschaftsstandort mit eigener Rechtspersönlichkeit. Sie ist Eigentümervertreterin der Republik Österreich und zuständig für 110 historisch bedeutende Bauwerke und Monumente, darunter die Hofburg Wien, das Schloss Belvedere als ehemaliger Sommerresidenz des Prinzen Eugen von Savoyen und die Hofburg Innsbruck. Die BHÖ ist verantwortlich für die geeignete Nutzung und Erhaltung dieser denkwürdigen Gebäude.

Neben der Kernaufgabe, historische Mauern bestmöglich zu erhalten, hat die Burghauptmannschaft Österreich seit 2013 zahlreiche (EU-)Projekte initiiert, begleitet und durchgeführt. Dadurch konnten wichtige Anliegen wie die Weiterbildung im Bereich Erhaltung historischer Gebäude in Angriff genommen und umgesetzt werden.

Neben EU-Projekten hat die Burghauptmannschaft auch anderen innovativen Ideen und künstlerischem Ausdruck Raum gegeben, wodurch vielseitige und spannende Synergien erreicht wurden.

Wozu EU-Projekte?

HR Mag. Reinhold Sahl hat das Amt des Burghauptmanns im Jahr 2010 übernommen. Als Manager und langfristig planender Stratege wurde ihm bald klar, dass im Bereich Weiterbildung und Erhalt von Know-How Nachholbedarf besteht. So war er von der Idee begeistert, ein Erasmus+ Projekt zu diesem Thema einzureichen. 2014 wurde das Projekt MODI-FY gestartet und trotz Budgetknappheit in drei Jahren eine international zertifizierte Weiterbildung für Instandhaltungs-ManagerInnen geschaffen. Weitere EU-Projekte wie OrbEEt oder PRO-Heritage folgten.

2016 wurde der Hofburg Wien dann auf Antrag der Burghauptmannschaft Österreich das Europäische Kulturerbesiegel zuerkannt. Auf Grund der aktiven Rolle der BHÖ unter den ausgezeichneten Stätten ist sie seit 2019 auch Koordinatorin des EHL@N(etzwerks). Einer Initiative, die allen bestehenden und zukünftigen Kulturerbesiegel-Trägern wertvolle Erfahrungen und Werkzeuge zur Verfügung stellt, um sie dabei zu unterstützen, ihren Aufgaben als Kulturerbeträger gerecht zu werden.

Projekte auf Europäischer Ebene entwickeln schnell eine gewisse Eigendynamik: einmal gestartet, erhält man Einladungen zu Projekten und hat Zugang zu ungeahnten neuen Möglichkeiten, wie die Teilnahme an „Voices of Culture“ im Kulturerbejahr 2018. BHÖ hat sich mittlerweile einen guten Ruf als Projektinitiatorin und –Koordinatorin erarbeitet; Und nutzt die daraus entstehenden Chancen zum Vorteil von MitarbeiterInnen, den historischen Gebäuden an sich und der breiten Öffentlichkeit.

Auf dieser Website finden Sie nun alle aktuellen und bisherigen (EU-)Projekte der Burghauptmannschaft Österreich. Natürlich mit einer laufenden Aktualisierung und Erweiterung im Fall der Genehmigung eines neuen Projekts.

Mit dem seit September 2019 regelmäßig erscheinenden Newsletter Projektwelt  informieren wir Sie zudem über Highlights der laufenden Aktivitäten. Gleichzeitig disseminieren wir unsere EU-Projekte und –inhalte und leisten unseren Beitrag zu einer noch besseren Vernetzung im entstehenden neuen Sektor „Kulturerbe“.

Informationen zu den Kernaufgaben der Burghauptmannschaft Österreich finden Sie hier.

Projekte & Events
12. Oktober 2021
Newsletter