Interview with Reinhold Sahl -Part II

17. Juni 2020

1. In the first part of the interview we talked about EU projects of BHOe. The Imperial Palace Vienna holds the European Heritage Label (EHL) since 2016, a seal which is also based on an initiative of the EU Commission, together with the European Parliament.

Yes that's true. We, that is Burghauptmannschaft Oesterreich, applied for the award of the Cultural Heritage Label in 2015. It was and is important to us to emphasise the great importance of the Imperial Palace Vienna for Europe. So we set out to complete the rather voluminous application in which the role of Imperial Palace Vienna in the course of European history was described and presented.

And then we had to be patient, as usual. The actual awarding took place in 2016 - in a formal ceremony. Before that, a professional video about Imperial Palace Vienna was produced. In which I was able to tell about the development of Imperial Palace Vienna over the centuries. From the medieval castle to today's large complex – which nowadays includes the seat of the Federal President and the Federal Chancellor.

The label itself only exists three more years - since 2013. Since then, the most significant European historical sites are awarded the Cultural Heritage Label or EHL. And it's an honour to be part of this.

Before 2016 there was only one bearer of the seal in Austria and that was Carnuntum. Carnuntum, as a former Roman settlement with a military and civil town, is just as unique as the Imperial Palace Vienna, which has been the center of power of the Habsburg Empire for centuries.

So we thought that Imperial Palace Vienna as the venue of the Congress of Vienna 1814/15 would be a logical candidate for this label. On top of that the 200 year celebrations of this major European event took place in 2015 …

1.a. What exactly were the reasons for BHOe applying to be awarded this label?

There were several, but the most important was to make Imperial Palace Vienna recognisable. Just think about it: when you came to the Imperial Palace complex today, where exactly did you enter the area? Not the building, but the area of Imperial Palace Vienna!

Very few people are aware of the actual dimensions of it - the area of Imperial Palace Vienna. After all, more than 240,000 m² - the size of almost 34 soccer fields!

And to this day, most visitors do not notice what actually belongs to this area.

It extends from the Albertina Museum to Volksgarten and from Michaelertor - nearby is the entrance to the Sisi Museum - to the Museum Quarter - the former imperial stables; it is basically a city within the city.

Metaphorically speaking, however, Imperial Palace Vienna is only perceived in its pieces of the puzzle - just the districts, so to speak, but not the city itself, not as a whole, as a unit. This unity, in turn, is unique about Imperial Palace Vienna - after all, it is the largest secular building complex in Europe in terms of expanse, with 18 wings, 19 courtyards and 2,600 rooms. As far as I know, only the Vatican city is larger than Imperial Palace Vienna and that does mean something.

It is our clear aim to use the European Heritage Label to point out this entirety or unity and its significance for European history. And of course, the uniqueness of the area is easier and better to be promoted.

In addition, we can increasingly achieve synergy effects when the users - by which I mean the museums and galleries, the event rooms, the national library, the riding school and all other facilities that are part of the Imperial Palace Vienna complex - are perceived as a unit.

Showing the diversity of Imperial Palace Vienna was one of the reasons for submitting our application for the European Heritage Label. In fact, Imperial Palace Vienna has all the elements of a city within the city:

It is living space - if you like, “LebensHof/burg”, economic space or “Wirtschaftshof/burg”, space for learning and playing, whereby you can always replace space with courtyard or “burg”. Imperial Palace Vienna with all its green gardens and parks is of course a natural space, but also a research space, a creative space and, above all, a space for power and glory - with magnificent buildings, rooms and monuments. This diversity in a historic complex is otherwise only found in historical cities.

However, Imperial Palace Vienna is not a city in the traditional sense. At the same time, however, it offers all the elements of a city and that by itself is something special. The Cultural Heritage Label hightlights this special feature even more and emphasises the historical importance of the Imperial Palace Vienna for Europe. Something that we can rightly be proud of and that absolutely must be preserved for future generations.

1.b. What should be achieved with this seal?

As I said, the main objectives are the recognisability and overall appearance of the Imperial Palace Vienna area; To this end, we launched a user board in 2016. A kind of general assembly of all users and BHOe as "administrator" of the area. In this committee, problems are presented openly, discussed extensively and based on that solutions are developed. A good example of the new collaboration is the World Museum, which we talked about in the first part of the interview. Without these joint considerations, there would not be a Imperial Palace Vienna Visitor Centre today.

Another example are events that always cause worry among users. There are thousand things to consider and to discuss in detail so that the event itself can run smoothly AND the daily work of users is affected as little as possible.

Thanks to the Cultural Heritage Label, users now feel more like part of a whole. Today, users see the Imperial Palace Vienna as their area, in which things are regulated together for the best of all. The seal is, so to speak, the brace that holds everything together.

Because everyone who is part of this complex also benefits from this Cultural Heritage label:

Firstly, the whole is always more than the sum of its parts, as it is said. In case of Imperial Palace Vienna, this means bundling interests and planning that includes everyone. Thus, we avoid nasty surprises later, because we overlooked an impact on a user or misjudged it. Today, users are involved in decisions and check all eventualities in advance. This results in a policy that really benefits everyone.

Secondly, the European Heritage Label also offers all users a new platform for joint presentations, which we are currently working on with full power. The new website of Imperial Palace Vienna will be presented soon. Again something that would not have existed before. Since Imperial Palace Vienna was not seen as a whole, there was no common external appearance.

Currently, anyone looking for information about the Imperial Palace Vienna complex has to do so on various websites - an absurdity these days, as everyone wants to find information with one click, if possible. With the new website there will be a central point of contact!

And thirdly, of course, the label emphasises the historical importance of Imperial Palace Vienna and thus Vienna and the Republic of Austria even more. As the holder of the European Heritage Label, Imperial Palace Vienna is part of a special group of now 48 historical sites across Europe. Is therefore well known to the Commission and experts in the Cultural Heritage sector and has better access to actions such as Voices of Culture 2018, an initiative of the EU Commission for the Cultural Heritage Year.

. And we, that is Burghauptmannschaft as owner representatives, have taken the opportunity to actively help shaping the EHL landscape. Since autumn 2019 we are coordinator of a unique network, namely a network of EHL sites, i.e. the bearers of the Cultural Heritage Label across Europe. This network strengthens the cooperation between EHL sites and further develops the EHL brand. All bearers should benefit from this network and since these sites are extremely different, it is quite challenging.

The fundamental values of the EU, on which the selection of the EHL sites is based, are extremely important. They form the basis for a strong EHL brand, which is only as strong as the values jointly represented by the sites.

Seen in this way, October 13th as date for the EHL Networking Day, was very important for the EHL sites and also for the Imperial Palace Vienna as part of this network.

2. What activities have been implemented within the scope of the label so far?

As said before, one very important element is the joint external appearance that will be given with the new website. Due to technical challenges, such as a sensible and functional server solution, the start date for the Imperial Palace Vienna website has been postponed. If you want to know more about this, I invite you to read our current newsletter.

A common Visitor Centre was and is just as important. As already emphasised, that was not available until recently. Why would you need a joint Visitor Centre if no one is aware of the whole area of Imperial Palace Vienna, containing various smaller sectors. The EHL seal has changed that and a coincidence during the renovation of the World Museum offered a suitable space - we talked about it in the first part of the interview.

Another thing that would have been much more difficult to implement without the Cultural Heritage Label is our guidance system. This is of course closely linked to the Visitor Centre and barrier-free access.

Another special feature is that this guidance system was planned and implemented together with the users and visitors. By including all those affected, we were able to develop a sensible and cost-effective solution.

Part of this guidance system is something that has been introduced by law in 2016: namely the creation of barrier-free access. A topic that poses a particular challenge on historical buildings. Here - especially if they are under monument protection - many regulations and special features must be taken into account.

Today Imperial Palace Vienna is as barrier-free as possible - with the exception of attics, cellars - and of course historical spiral staircases.

And all these activities aim to make Imperial Palace Vienna function as a city within the city, with an abundance of "spaces" - from living space to research space - tangible and intangible in all their diversity.

An example:

area - historical buildings are often seen as money destroyers. But that's not true. Logically, maintaining our historical buildings costs money, but they also generate some in return, when being used sensibly. This is clearly the case with Imperial Palace Vienna: the areas and rooms of the Imperial Palace are used in a variety of ways.

From public institutions such as Burghauptmannschaft Oesterreich, the Austrian Federal Monuments Office or the Federal President’s office. The most famous and largest museums of Austria are located in the area of Imperial Palace Vienna. Such as the Museum of Art and Natural History, Albertina and Sisi Museum.

The label serves as a motor that ensures that the maintenance of Imperial Palace Vienna brings great joy and great benefit to all current and future visitors and users.

3. What else has been or is planned to ensure the preservation of the EHL?

The spectrum here ranges from events and offers for young people to the expansion of the digital offer.

Something that is already happening, but should be expanded and strengthened, are events related to Imperial Palace Vienna. This means EHL Days as well as participation in the Monument Day. Together with the EHL network, new and innovative activities are planned and implemented. An EHL ring binder is anticipated containing information material on all EHL sites – with beautiful photos and quickly comprehensible data. As a result, the sites will present themselves as a common portrait of European Culture - accessible to all and expandable with newly awarded EHL sites.

On the other hand - the target group of young people in particular needs to be focused on even more strongly, that is what the panel report of the Monitoring 2020 says. Here we clearly have to invest more time and effort.

At the moment we are considering the implementation of so-called thematic trails, which introduce visitors to European values in particular - and their meaning within the European Union in an educational and entertaining way. This can also be very helpful for migrants and support their integration.

A board game already exists - the DKT Imperial Palace Vienna. Here the players can rent areas of Imperial Palace Vienna, whereby leasing would actually be the correct expression. If you don't pay attention, you end up being kicked out of the Hofburg Ball, because you have danced and drank too much.

And of course there is the EHL Memo that we developed for the EU Commission. With this game, the EHL sites are presented graphically and interest in the bearer sites is raised. It is suitable for players of all ages and is a wonderful birthday or Christmas present.

Something that is important in connection with planned activities: the commission checks about every 5 years in a monitoring process whether the EHL site is allowed to keep its label. A site therefore cannot rest on its previous activities...

This means that Burghauptmannschaft, as owner's representative, must constantly consider how Imperial Palace Vienna can and should be further developed in a meaningful way. Many things have already been initiated, such as the afore mentioned activities. Such considerations influence our EU project planning as well as other planning steps. Obviously, budget is always a regulatory framework here that let some ideas die rather quickly.

However, that doesn't prevent us from trying again and on the contrary, it keeps us looking for new ways to make our ideas a reality. So it remains exciting and the Imperial Palace Vienna still has a lot to offer, which is yet undiscovered.

projects & events
12. October 2021
Newsletter

Interview mit Burghauptmann Mag. Sahl, – Teil II

17. Juni 2020

1. Im ersten Teil des Interviews haben wir über EU-Projekte der BHÖ gesprochen. Nun trägt die Hofburg Wien seit 2016 das Europäische Kulturerbe-Siegel (EHL), das ebenfalls auf einer Initiative der EU-Kommission, gemeinsam mit dem Europäischen Parlament, basiert.

Ja, das stimmt. Wir, also die Burghauptmannschaft Österreich, haben uns 2015 um die Verleihung des Kulturerbe-Siegels beworben. Es war und ist uns ein Anliegen, die große Bedeutung der Hofburg Wien innerhalb Europas hervorzuheben. Also haben wir uns daran gemacht, den ziemlich umfangreichen Antrag auszufüllen, in dem die Rolle der Hofburg Wien im Lauf der Europäischen Geschichte beschrieben und dargestellt wird.

Und dann war wieder mal Warten angesagt. Die eigentliche Verleihung war dann 2016 – in einem feierlichen Festakt. Davor wurde auch ein professionelles Video gedreht über die Hofburg Wien. Ich durfte von der Entwicklung der Hofburg Wien über die Jahrhunderte erzählen. Von der mittelalterlichen Burg zur heutigen Großanlage – inklusive Sitz des Bundespräsidenten und des Bundeskanzlers.

Das Siegel selbst gibt es ja erst seit 2013. Seit damals werden die bedeutendsten Europäischen historischen Stätten mit dem Kulturerbe-Siegel ausgezeichnet. Und es ist schon eine Ehre da dazu zu gehören.

Zu der Zeit gab es in Österreich nur einen einzigen Träger des Siegels und zwar Carnuntum. Wobei Carnuntum als ehemalige Römersiedlung mit Militär- und Bürgerstadt genauso einzigartig ist, wie die Hofburg Wien als jahrhundertelanges Machtzentrum des Habsburgerreichs.

Da haben wir uns gedacht, die Hofburg Wien als Veranstaltungsort des Wiener Kongresses 1814/15 ist ein logischer Kandidat für dieses Siegel. Noch dazu wo im Jahr 2015 die 200-Jahr-Feiern dieses Europäischen Großereignisses stattgefunden haben…

1.a. Was genau waren die Gründe, dass sich die BHÖ für die Verleihung dieses Siegels beworben hat?

Da gibt es mehrere, aber der wichtigste war in jedem Fall eine Wiedererkennbarkeit für die Hofburg Wien zu schaffen. Überlegen Sie einmal: als Sie heute in die Hofburg gekommen sind, wo genau haben Sie das Areal betreten? Nicht das Gebäude, sondern das Areal der Hofburg Wien!

Es ist ja den wenigsten bewusst, wie riesig die Hofburg Wien – also das Areal der Hofburg Wien – eigentlich ist. Immerhin mehr als 240.000 m² – fast so groß wie 34 Fußballfelder!

Und bis heute wird von den meisten BesucherInnen nicht wahrgenommen, was alles zu diesem Areal gehört.

Es reicht immerhin von der Albertina bis zum Volksgarten und vom Michaelertor bis zum Museumsquartier – den früheren Hofstallungen; ist also im Grunde eine Stadt in der Stadt. Bildlich gesprochen wird die Hofburg Wien allerdings nur in ihren Puzzleteilen wahrgenommen – quasi nur die Bezirke, aber nicht die Stadt an sich, nicht als Ganzes, als Einheit.

Diese Einheit ist wiederum das Einzigartige an der Hofburg Wien – immerhin ist sie der flächenmäßig größte europäische Profan-Gebäudekomplex, mit 18 Trakten, 19 Höfen und 2600 Räumen. Meines Wissens ist nur der Vatikan größer als die Hofburg Wien und das heißt schon was.

Unser erklärtes Ziel ist es, mit dem Europäischen Kulturerbe-Siegel auf diese Gesamtheit bzw. Einheit und dessen Bedeutung für die Europäische Geschichte hinzuweisen. Und natürlich lässt sich das Areal in seiner Einzigartigkeit auch leichter und besser vermarkten.

Außerdem können wir vermehrt Synergy-Effekte erzielen, wenn die NutzerInnen – damit meine ich die Museen und Galerien, die Veranstaltungsräumlichkeiten, die Nationalbibliothek, die Hofreitschule und alle anderen Einrichtungen, die alle Teil des Hofburg Wien Komplexes sind, als Einheit wahrgenommen werden.

Auch die Vielfalt der Hofburg Wien zu zeigen war einer der Gründe für die Einreichung unseres Antrags für das Europäische Kulturerbe-Siegel. Tatsächlich hat die Hofburg Wien alle Elemente einer Stadt in der Stadt:

Sie ist Lebensraum – wenn Sie so wollen „LebensHof/burg“, Wirtschaftsraum oder „Wirtschaftshof/burg“, Lern- und Spielraum, wobei Sie auch da Raum mit Hof/burg ersetzen können. Die Hofburg mit all den Grünanlagen ist natürlich Naturraum, aber auch Forschungsraum, Kreativraum und vor allem Macht- respektive Prachtraum – mit herrlichen Bauwerken, Räumlichkeiten und Monumenten. Diese Vielfalt in einem historischen Komplex findet sich sonst nur in historischen Städten. Die Hofburg ist allerdings keine Stadt im herkömmlichen Sinn.

Gleichzeitig bietet sie aber alle Elemente einer Stadt und ist schon allein dadurch etwas Besonderes. Das Kulturerbe-Siegel hebt diese Besonderheit noch stärker hervor und betont die historische Bedeutung der Hofburg Wien für Europa. Etwas, auf das wir mit Recht stolz sein können und das unbedingt für künftige Generationen erhalten werden muss.

1.b. Was soll mit diesem Siegel erreicht werden?

Wie gesagt sind die Hauptziele die Wiedererkennbarkeit und der Gesamtauftritt des Hofburg Areals; dazu haben wir 2016 ein NutzerInnenboard ins Leben gerufen. Eine Art Generalversammlung aller NutzerInnen und der Burghauptmannschaft als „Verwalterin“ des Areals. In diesem Gremium werden Probleme offen präsentiert, ausgiebig diskutiert und darauf basierend werden dann Lösungen erarbeitet. Ein gutes Beispiel für die neue Zusammenarbeit ist das Weltmuseum, über das wir im ersten Teil des Interviews gesprochen haben. Ohne die gemeinsamen Überlegungen gäbe es heute kein Besucherzentrum Hofburg Wien.

Ein anderes Beispiel sind Veranstaltungen, die immer für Unruhe unter den NutzerInnen sorgen. Da sind tausend Dinge zu beachten und im Detail zu besprechen, damit die Veranstaltung selber reibungslos über die Bühne gehen kann UND die tägliche Arbeit der NutzerInnen möglichst wenig beeinträchtigt wird.

Durch das Kulturerbe-Siegel fühlen sich die NutzerInnen jetzt mehr als Teil eines Ganzen. Heute sehen die NutzerInnen das Hofburg Wien Areal als ihr Gebiet, in dem zum Besten aller die Dinge gemeinsam geregelt werden. Das Siegel ist sozusagen die Klammer, die alles zusammen hält.

Denn von diesem Kulturerbe-Siegel profitieren ja auch alle, die Teil dieses Komplexes sind:

Erstens ist das Ganze ja immer mehr als die Summe seiner Teile, wie es so heißt. Im Fall der Hofburg Wien bedeutet das eine Bündelung der Interessen und eine Planung, die alle einbezieht. Dadurch vermeiden wir später böse Überraschungen, weil wir etwa eine Auswirkung auf eine NutzerIn übersehen oder falsch eingeschätzt haben. Heute werden die NutzerInnen in Entscheidungen eingebunden und prüfen alle Eventualitäten schon im Vorfeld. Damit wird ein Ergebnis erzielt, das wirklich allen zu Gute kommt.

Zweitens bietet das Europäische Kulturerbe-Siegel allen NutzerInnen auch eine neue Plattform der gemeinsamen Präsentation, an der wir derzeit noch mit Hochdruck arbeiten. Die neue Website der Hofburg Wien wird demnächst vorgestellt. Auch etwas das es früher nicht gegeben hätte. Nachdem die Hofburg Wien nicht als Gesamtheit gesehen wurde, gab es auch keinen gemeinsamen Auftritt nach außen.

Wer Informationen zur Hofburg Wien sucht, muss das derzeit noch auf zig Webseiten tun – heutzutage ein Unding, da jede/r möglichst auf einen Klick seine Infos finden will. Mit der neuen Website gibt es einen zentralen Anlaufpunkt!

Und zudem hebt das Siegel natürlich drittens die historische Bedeutung der Hofburg Wien und damit Wiens und der Republik Österreichs noch mehr hervor. Als Trägerin des Europäischen Kulturerbe-Siegels ist die Hofburg Wien Teil einer besonderen Gruppe von jetzt 48 historischen Stätten in Europa. Ist dadurch der Kommission und ExpertInnen des Kulturerbe-Sektors bestens bekannt und hat besseren Zugang zu Aktionen, wie Voices of Culture 2018, einer Initiative der EU-Kommission zum Kulturerbejahr.

Und wir, also die Burghauptmannschaft als Eigentümervertreterin, haben die Gelegenheit ergriffen aktiv die EHL Landschaft mitzubestimmen. Seit Herbst 2019 sind wir Koordinator eines einzigartigen Netzwerks, nämlich eines Netzwerks der EHL-Stätten, also der Trägerstätten des Kulturerbe-Siegels. Mit diesem Netzwerk wird die Zusammenarbeit der EHL-Trägerstätten gestärkt und die Marke EHL weiterentwickelt. Alle TrägerInnen sollen von diesem Netzwerk profitieren und da diese Stätten außerordentlich unterschiedlich sind, ist das ganz schön herausfordernd.

Dabei sind die grundlegenden Werte der EU, die ja auch der Auswahl der EHL-Stätten zu Grunde liegen, extrem wichtig. Sie bilden die Basis für eine starke EHL-Marke. Die ist nur so stark, wie die Werte von den Stätten gemeinsam vertreten werden.

So gesehen ist der 13. Oktober ein ganz wichtiger Tag für die EHL Trägerstätten und auch für die Hofburg Wien als Teil des Netzwerks.

2. Welche Aktivitäten wurden im Rahmen des Siegels bisher umgesetzt?

Wie gesagt, ein ganz wichtiges Element ist der gemeinsame Außenauftritt, der mit der Website gegeben sein wird. Bedingt durch technische Herausforderungen, wie eine sinnvolle und funktionale Serverlösung, hat sich der Starttermin für die Hofburg Wien Website in den Winter verschoben. Wenn Sie mehr dazu wissen wollen, lade ich Sie ein, unseren aktuellen Newsletter zu lesen.

Ein genauso wichtiges Element war und ist ein gemeinsames Besucherzentrum. Wie schon einmal betont, war auch das bis vor kurzem nicht gegeben. Wozu braucht man auch ein gemeinsames Besucherzentrum, wenn ohnehin keiner weiß, dass die Hofburg Wien ein Gesamtareal mit einer Vielzahl von Bereichen ist. Durch das EHL Siegel hat sich das verändert und ein Zufall beim Umbau des Weltmuseums hat dann auch den geeigneten Raum angeboten – wir haben im ersten Teil des Interviews darüber gesprochen.

Noch etwas, das ohne das Kulturerbe-Siegel viel schwieriger umzusetzen gewesen wäre, ist unser Leitsystem. Das ist natürlich eng verknüpft mit dem Besucherzentrum und dem barrierefreien Zugang.

Eine weitere Besonderheit ist, dass dieses Leitsystem gemeinsam mit den NutzerInnen und BesucherInnen geplant und umgesetzt wurde. Durch die Einbindung aller Betroffenen haben wir eine sinnvolle und kostenoptimale Lösung entwickeln können.

Teil dieses Leitsystems ist etwas, das uns von gesetzlicher Seite seit 2016 vorgegeben wird: nämlich die Schaffung von Barrierefreiheit. Ein Thema, das in historischen Gebäuden eine besondere Herausforderung darstellt. Hier müssen – vor allem wenn sie unter Denkmalschutz stehen – viele Vorschriften und Besonderheiten beachtet werden.

Heute ist die Hofburg Wien so weit wie möglich barrierefrei – ausgenommen sind natürlich Dachböden, Keller – und logischerweise historische Wendeltreppen.

Und all diese Aktivitäten haben das Ziel, die Hofburg Wien als Stadt in der Stadt mit einer Fülle von „Räumen“ – vom Lebensraum bis zum Forschungsraum – in aller Vielfalt erfahrbar und erlebbar zu machen.

Ein Beispiel:

Die Hofburg Wien als Wirtschaftsraum – Historische Gebäude werden gerne als Geldvernichter gesehen. Das stimmt so allerdings nicht. Logisch kostet die Erhaltung unserer historischen Bauten Geld, sie bringen aber auch welches, indem sie sinnvoll genutzt werden. Bei der Hofburg Wien ist das eindeutig der Fall: die Bereiche und Räume der Hofburg werden vielfältig genutzt.

Von Einrichtungen der Öffentlichen Hand wie der Burghauptmannschaft Österreich, dem Österreichischen Bundesdenkmalamt oder der Präsidentschaftskanzlei. Die berühmtesten und größten Museen Österreichs befinden sich auf dem Areal der Hofburg Wien. So wie das Kunsthistorische und Naturhistorische Museum, die Albertina und das Sisi Museum.

Das Siegel dient als Motor, der dafür sorgt, dass die Erhaltung der Hofburg Wien allen derzeitigen und zukünftigen BesucherInnen und NutzerInnen viel Freude und großen Nutzen bringt.

3. Was ist noch geplant um die Erhaltung des Siegels zu gewährleisten?

Da reicht die Bandbreite von Veranstaltungen und Angeboten für Jugendliche bis zum Ausbau des digitalen Angebots.

Etwas, das zwar bereits passiert, aber noch erweitert und verstärkt werden soll, sind Veranstaltungen mit Bezug zur Hofburg Wien. Damit sind EHL-Tage genauso gemeint, wie eine Teilnahme am Tag des Denkmals. Gemeinsam mit dem EHL Netzwerk werden neue und innovative Aktivitäten geplant und umgesetzt. So soll es eine EHL Sammelmappe mit Infomaterial zu allen Träger-Stätten geben – mit schönen Fotos und schnell erfassbaren Daten. Dadurch präsentieren sich die Stätten als gemeinsames Porträt Europäischer Kultur – für alle zugänglich und erweiterbar mit den neuen EHL TrägerInnen.

Andererseits – vor allem die Zielgruppe Jugendliche muss noch stärker in den Fokus genommen werden, das sagt auch der Panelbericht des Monitorings 2020. Hier haben wir mit der Hofburg Wien eindeutig noch Nachholbedarf.

Im Moment überlegen wir die Umsetzung von sogenannten Themenwegen, die BesucherInnen auf lehrreiche und unterhaltsame Weise an Europäische Werte und ihre Bedeutung innerhalb der europäischen Union heranführen. Das kann auch für MigrantInnen sehr hilfreich sein und bei der Integration unterstützen.

Ein Brettspiel existiert ja bereits – das DKT Hofburg Wien. Hier können die SpielerInnen Bereiche der Hofburg Wien mieten, wobei pachten eigentlich der richtige Ausdruck wäre. Wer nicht aufpasst, landet beim Hofburg-Ball im Aus, weil er/sie zu viel getanzt und getrunken hat.

Und natürlich gibt‘s da noch das EHL Memo, das wir für die EU-Kommission entwickelt haben. Mit diesem Spiel werden die EHL Stätten bildhaft vorgestellt und es wird Interesse für die Träger-Stätten geweckt. Es eignet sich für SpielerInnen aller Altersgruppen und ist ein wunderbares Geschenk für Geburtstag oder Weihnachten.

Etwas, das in Zusammenhang mit geplanten Aktivitäten wichtig ist: Die Kommission überprüft etwa alle 5 Jahre in einem Monitoring-Prozess, ob die EHL Stätte ihr Siegel behalten darf. Eine Trägerstätte kann sich also nicht auf den bisherigen Aktivitäten ausruhen.

Das heißt, die Burghauptmannschaft als Eigentümervertreterin muss sich laufend Gedanken machen, wie die Hofburg Wien sinnvoll weiterentwickelt werden kann und soll. Viele Dinge sind schon initiiert worden, wie eben die genannten Aktivitäten. In unsere EU-Projektplanung fließen solche Überlegungen ebenso ein, wie in andere Planungsschritte. Allerdings ist das Budget immer ein regulativer Rahmen, der manche Ideen schnell wieder sterben lässt.

Das hindert uns jedoch nicht daran, es wieder zu versuchen und nach neuen Methoden Ausschau zu halten, mit deren Hilfe wir unsere Ideen doch noch verwirklichen können. Es bleibt also spannend und die Hofburg Wien hat noch viel Unentdecktes zu bieten.

Projekte & Events
12. Oktober 2021
Newsletter